Is 60 Lumens about right for 25 yard range?

TheLimey

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, I'm a noob and I have a question.

I've been doing a bunch of research on a new flashlight and think I know what I want but I wanted to get some input.
I looking at getting a Surefire E2D partly because I love the look of the light and don't mind paying a little extra for what appears to be a really well made light.
I just need to know if 60 lumens would be sufficient to illuminate an object at about a 25 yard range (the diagonal length of my back yard) and also how wide an area would be illuminated.
FlashLightReviews.com states that the E2D has a 38.73 throw (1 lux of illumination at 38.73 metres) but also states that "1 Lux is a pretty pathetic amount of light". 25 yards would be about 23 metres so how much light can I expect at that range?
Anyone have an E2D? What is the thread dimension in the switch bezel?

raggie33

*the raggedier*
it has a lot to do with the refelcter or optics being used

TheLimey

Newly Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
raggie33 said:
it has a lot to do with the refelcter or optics being used

[/ QUOTE ]

So with the reflector and optics in the E2D would 60 lumens be adequate?

IlluminatingBikr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm pretty sure the E2d can reach 25 yards pretty easily.

Lumens is a measure of total light output. It does not take into account how focused the light is. You could change the focus on your E2d, and you wouldn't change the lumen rating at all (except for reflector inefficency, but let's forget about that).

Candlepower is kind of like the opposite. It measures the brightness, but only in the center of the beam. As you change the focus, you will definitely change the candlepower measurement.

Flashlight Enthusiast
If I understand it correctly.....Lumens is NOT a judge of range. Its just how much light (in all directions) emmitted. Lux is a better indicator of range (throw).