Mountain Bike Lights

threelanes

Newly Enlightened
I just joined this site and hope that someone can give me some advice. I am an amateur Adventure Racer which involves paddling, mountain biking, climbing, and trekking. Most races involve navigation/orienteering and many last longer than 12 hours, some up to a week. The race does not stop for darkness. This puts a heavy advantage to the teams with the best lights. I currently use a Cygolite with 20 watts of incadecent bulbs and 6 volt lead-acid battery with 10 Ah. These are very heavy but cheap. Many better teams use NiteRider light systems that use halogen bulbs and NiCad batteries. These systems are typically 4 times the price ($400+). With all the new developments in LED's, I'm hoping that I could leap frog these systems with something that will be brighter but last all night. Any idea's? None of the manufacturers seem to provide a measure of brightness to compare different brands. How do I compare 20 watt bulbs to LED or Halogen?

Thanks for any help, Tom

NamTinker

Newly Enlightened
Tom
See a similar thread in "General Light Discussion" - Best Bike lights. In short: If you want LIGHT - go HID, if the terrain is such that you are forced to go very slow - uphill etc, LED 3W+ will work. I have both - a 10W NiteRider HID and a 3W LED headlamp/bikelight. Both can use the same battery. Nothing commecially available that is cheap, light and gives enough light... If you have "cat eyes", a few commercial LED lights exist that you can use as headlamp and bike light. The batteries, if you go Li-On, are very light - so light that you can fit the complete light head and battery on a mtb helmet. But expensive! It is for you to decide what you are going to spend. Think like this - if you miss a vital path in a race and crash - the expenses incurred and lost in that race combined with possible injuries - would that have justified an expensive light?
Cheers

turbodog

Flashaholic
There are many ways to approach this.