How much better is the Photon Freedom ...

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: What would you get for everyday use? Turq. ..

The Freedom is easier to use and switch modes. The III's are being phased out for the Freedoms.

As for color, I would always go with white for useful. White is far better for recongizing things. Colors are better only for the cool factor, reaction from friends. Colros can also be brighter and can be better at blinding at close range.

But if you want to use it for seeing things, get White. The exception woudl be for making some things stand out more. For example in UV a scorpion will glow.

Also, most peopel think of red as the color to preserve night vision. The truth is that even red if it is too bright will kill your night vision. And any color that is dimmed enough will preserve night vision. Just red can be brighter before it hurts night vision.

freefall8

Newly Enlightened

The photon freedom is a great light. I am a pilot and use the turquoise LED to fly at night. The color supposedly preserves your night vision, and lets you see red details on sectional charts.

The freedom has a brighten/dim mode to allow unlimited brightness settings to your taste.

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast

It depends on how you want to use them. The P3 remembers it's mode and has an auto-off timeout mode, so that can be helpful some times. The Freedom definitely has a more intuitive interface and better accessories. If you use them in full-brightness mode most of the time, the Freedom's interface works very well. They are both excellent.

ArmyPilot

Newly Enlightened

I just played with one in the store, and I have to say the worst thing about the Freedom is that it doesn't remember how bright it was last time you used it. I don't know if there is a way to get it to remember, but for me, having a light come on and not immediately blind me is important.

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast

[ QUOTE ]
ArmyPilot said: