Quick question on UK4AA e LED light

geepondy

Flashlight Enthusiast
Guys, particular those who have owned both, is it really no brighter then an Inova X5T? Due to the price and use of common batteries, it is on my list for Christmas gifts, but would like a little bit of wow factor. Another consideration is the Streamlight Jr., but that seems the opposite end of the spectrum, driving the crap out of the Luxeon but with only an hour or so runtime. Is their a light I'm missing in roughly the same price range that might be a compromise between the two?

Stephan

Newly Enlightened
I recently purchased one, hoping for some wow factor. I have had the incandescent version for a few years & it is a nice, reliable rig that I don't worry about (low cost). Got to say I have no firsthand experience with the Inovas, but I was a bit disappointed with the LED version when comparing directly to the incandescent.

Stephan

elgarak

Flashlight Enthusiast
That's very difficult to say. The X5T has more flood, the UK4AA eLed has more throw. The lesser throw of the X5T is very noticable to the naked eye. I can measure the higher throw easily with my lux-meter, but not the overall output. I trust the data from flashlightreviews, since I confirmed the relative throw with my own measurements (if flashlightreviews says light A has two times more throw than light B, then I measure the same ratio).

Now, compared to other Luxeon-I lights the UK is not quite bright. Don't expect a "WOW" when you turn it on. It's more like a slow "wwwwwooooooWWWWWEEEEEEE" when you register that the original batteries still support the same brightness after 2 months of intermittent use.

asdalton

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is not a "wow" light as far as brightness or throw is concerned. It does have better throw and better color than an equivalently bright 5-mm LED cluster.