Grease on brand new L2 reflector?

dc

Newly Enlightened
Hi CPFers,
I just bought a new L2 and to my disapppointment, i found grease on the reflector.. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif

I had email surefire on this issue and in the meantime, would just like to know is it possible to access the reflector to clean off the grease cos i tried all my might but dun seem to able to unscrew the front part off.

I really dreaded sending the torch back to surefire cos i'm not in the states and i would lose both time & money sending the torch back and fro to them.

Sorry, i'm new to torch so not very technically inclined on the various terms.

Sad...so much for a premium torch.

Rgrds,
DC

Size15's

Flashaholic
I'm sorry to hear about one of your L2's.
Does it disrupt the beam? (Any chance of the photo?)

I don't suggest you try to clean it yourself. The Bezels are not intended to be taken apart.

Al

suppin

Newly Enlightened
I think it's really not advisable to try to clean the reflector by yourself. It is more likely that you'll end up damaging/scratching the coating of the reflector in the process of trying to clean it.

I think sending it back to Surefire would be the better option, besides, opening up the bezel yourself will probably void any warranty that Surefire will provide for it. So in the event that you have to send it back to Surefire anyway, it'll be a double whammy if you scratch up the reflector and Surefire voids the warranty.

dc

Newly Enlightened
Hi fellows,
Thks for the various suggestion. The grease spot actually dun affect the beam outline cos it's quite near the edge. However, i'm more worry on long term implication cos the grease may eat into the reflector coating and of cos it's look unsightly.