Double ended flashlight?

cobb

Flashlight Enthusiast
This may be a stupid question, but I was wondering if they made a double ended flashlight? One end a bright xenon light the other a 5 watt or higher led light? Sure I have seen the a2 by surefire and a few dual mode they had in the cabelas catalog, but they are either too dim or too big.

The close as I can figure is to get a surefire with a xenon head and led one. Assuming they make a bright led head and just swap them as needed, assuming they can be swapped. Sorry, I have no experience with surefure.

Design wise, I guess we could just use a threaded piece of pipe or so for room for 3 cr 123 cells, clickie switch at both ends, screw on heads at either end, one 5 watt led or brighter, other xenon. Then the clickie switchs could be 3 position or so, maybe a toggle switch in this case. One position is open, one is to light the head near it the third is to close the circuit for using the other end of the light.

I do see if they switches are in the wrong position it wont light, short out or both ends will light. Of course one end would need a cross over for the polarity difference.

Does this exist? Is it not worth making? Does the surefire swappable heads work better?

Just wondering

Topper

Flashaholic*
You could check out the Pila line of lights. Jon would be happy to sell you one with incan one one end and 4 led in the tailcap. Peak has a model that has led on both ends.
Topper /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

DaGunn

Newly Enlightened
Cobb,
Do you really want a double-ended flashlight? You would then have to worry about both ends of the light. How about a flashlight that has both LEDs and a Xenon bulb on the same business end. What if it were a a small package flashlight that runs off of 3 easily available AAA batterys, with a Xenon lamp and 6 LEDs placed around the lamp's circumference. Would this fit your needs as well as if not better than a double-ended flashlight.
Inquiring minds want to know.