GMRS radios/license???

juancho

Enlightened
Hi guys!! I just bought from Cabela's, two of the GMRS radios, what is the story with the license, people actually pay $80.00 to get a licence from the Federal Communication Commission?????
Juan C.

Aloft

Enlightened
Juancho. . . in the past, my impression is that a lot of people "blew off" the license for GMRS. As a result, there are now lots of people crowding GMRS and it's upsetting legit business users who DID pay for a license, according to some articles I've read in various communications/scanner magazines. I can't say that you'll get busted, but as an amateur radio operator I CAN say that the FCC is revisiting the strict enforcement that they seemed to abandon in years past and actually prosecuting some illegal radio operators. If you stay on the FRS channels only, it's likely you won't interfere with legit users. Or do the legal thing. . . buy a license or sell the GMRS's and get regular FRS radios. Just my dual pennies. . .

Luff

Enlightened
I'm one of those people who actually paid for two licenses (one for each radio). But then, they get used on ski slopes, at the lake and at some sporting events. Rumor has it that the FCC has taken some radios away from folks and fined the users for no license in Colorado ... but I heard that third-person and it may be bull.

It seemed smarter to me to obey the law & get the licenses than to risk the FCC's wrath, even if the chances of being busted may be slim.

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
You really only need one license to cover all your radios. I don't recall it being $80, but I did not pay much attention.

The rules for use are so simple and the cost so low that it's really not an impediemnt.

I think the main reason for the license is to keep the band's use down to an acceptable level.