Overdrive a Luxeon LED?

radioflyer

Newly Enlightened
Hi all, sorry if this has been answered elsewhere. Here's the question:
At what point is a Luxeon LED overdriven too far? Example: A VV0TW bin which would have Vf of 6.39 - 6.87 voltage drop, if driven with 3 123's, would have 9v applied. Is this dangerous for the LED? Or does it just make it brighter? Should I be using a DB750, or some other means of current regulation?
I'm a newbie to modding, and I want to do it right. Thanks in advance for all the help.

Greg

elgarak

Flashlight Enthusiast
The stress on the LED is not defined by the voltage. You can run an LED on 1000V, if you want to, as long as you adjust the voltage drop across the LED. Important for the lifetime/brightness of the LED is the CURRENT. If a LED is over/underdriven is defined by the current going through it, not the voltage (the current given in the datasheet of the LED defines the point between over- and underdrive). Given a certain voltage, the current is defined by the resistance of your circuit (Ohm's Law). So in a direct drive circuit, you have the LED, a resistor (for voltage adjustment and current limiting) and the INTERNAL RESISTANCE of your battery. Lithium batteries have generally a lower resistance than alkalines, would therefore generate a higher current with the same voltage. So there's a good possibility that you overdrive/fry the LED with your setup, if you don't use a regulation circuit.

Now, I don't know the internal resistances of different battery types, so I don't know if your setup will or will not work. I would advice you to post your question over on the flashlight electronics board. Some people around here are much more knowledgable than I am.

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast