Helmet light for Firefighter - advice needed

Me_at_werk

Newly Enlightened
Hi all

I'm new here but I'm told it's the best place for quality advice.

I need a new light for my firefighter's helmet. I've been using a Pelican Mitylite with a helmet clip for 16 years and been quite happy (apart from replacing the lamp module several times).

I'd like to look for a suitable replacement, maybe an LED model? If not LED, then something that has a more robust lamp module in it. Obviously, there's a few deciding factors:

Tough
Bright
Small
Electrostatically safe
Helmet clip

Can anyone suggest models and where to get them from? I'm based in Australia so I'd prefer a locally available product if possible. Otherwise, anything else that's available online and doesn't cost exhorbitant amounts for overseas shipping would be fine.

TIA

--
Me_at_werk

Chazzozz!!

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I don't see why you couldn't attatch the Surefire 6P to your helmet. Theyre aluminum, very bright (65 lumen), and has a Pyrex glass lens which withstands heat well. I have it and love it.

Echo63

Flashlight Enthusiast
its no problem getting a really good, tough light - the only real problem will be getting a helmet mount for it
i know pelican make a lot of different lights and helmet mounts.
if you could attach a 1 inch scope mount to your helmet then you could try any of the surefire or pila range
Streamlight make a lot of firefighter type lights that have hazardous ratings

i would reccomend either another Pelican or either Streamlight or underwater kinetics.
or you could try a headlamp - again pelican and streamlight have a few models
also try black diamond, petzl, princeton tec.
i would assume you want a very tight beam with little sidespill to cut through smoke - try having a look at the Inova range of LED lights
good to see another aussie flashaholic on the forum

X33

Enlightened