e2e + kl1 or kl4?

daloosh

Flashaholic*,
Absolutely.

That's the whole magic of the E2e, as we've discussed in a different thread. You can use incan for punch and led for flood and longer runtime. I must say I hated my first KL1 (it was really green) and had Chop put a 3W into it. Now I love it! And if I were doing it again, I'd get a KL4, cuz I like lumens. And after the KL1 and the mod, it cost as much as a KL4!

daloosh

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
New style or old style KL1? It think both are well worth it. The KL4 throws a wall of light, the new KL1 has a very nice hotspot (which translates to a lot of throw), and the old style KL1 is in between. If you do go with a old style KL1, make sure to check them beam tint (or swap the Lux once you have it). Do you have any specific uses in mind for the light? That might help with the decision.

-Mike

mullytron

Newly Enlightened
hi, newbie here. I just put a KL4 on an e1e and it's huge! I've heard the Surefire doesn't recommend it, but heard others have done it and had no problems.

Anyone ever gotten an adapter and put a KL3 on an e1e??

AuroraLite

Enlightened
I totally agree with Daloosh--I do think what intriguing about Surefire lights is the capacity of playing lego with them and the user always have the option to customize the module for more specific use.

I too am eagerly waiting for the new KL1 to arrive, and it just seems to be quite impressive from the beamshot picture that I have seen. It appears to have a tighter spot than the 'old-style' KL1.

For now, my KL4 does throw out a 'wall of light' for me; but I foresee my E2D may frequently switch between the new KL1 and MN03 in the not so distant future since it complements the MN03 better for my own use and liking.