Do I really need a Tactical flashlight? G2 vs QIII

MJRMetalworks

Newly Enlightened
I'm hoping that some of you with more experience with the G2 and or the QIII can help me make a decision.

I'm still pretty new to the high-end flashlight scene, but I'd like to take a first step. I need a flashlight to put in my briefcase that will be used as a general light. Change a flat tire, take the dog for a walk (suburban neighborhood), check out things that go 'bump' in the night, that kind of stuff. I understand that the G2 will have more throw but I'm not excited about the bulb going 'pop' at the wrong time, especially if I drop my brief case. The advantage to the G2 would be when to use as a tactical light on the rare occasion that I'm leaving work late and need to get to the car, or if the family and I are in the city and would need to discourage someone of questionable intent. I really like the size of the QIII and the durability of the LED. I'm just not sure how the two lights compare.

Right now the budget says "one light, under $70". Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

- Mike

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Do I really need a Tactical flashlight? G2 vs

Well, I'm far from an expert, but my instinct would be to say that if you aren't going to carry it in a pocket or on your belt, I'd consider a larger light. Maybe the Elektrolumens FT3C. It's a 3 C cell Lux III LED light. A good 2 to 3 inches longer than the G2, but not radically large by any means. Little bit better throw than the G2 and nearly the same total output but the G2 gives the famous 'wall of light' whereas the FT is more of a spot with decent spill.

All the pluses of better LEDs - bright, long lasting, durable, effecient. About 8 hour runtime at full brightness and honestly if I could either have the FT in my hands or a G2 if someone with potentially bad intents startled me, I'd rather it be the FT.