Streamlight twintask 2L or 3AA?

welphd

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I'm a flashlight newbie. Which one of the mentioned should I buy? The 3AA has longer battery life (80 vs 28 in LED mode), but 2L is brighter? 2L is $5 more.

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
I would go to a place that has both and see which one you like better. Is size a factor for you? Are you located where you can easily get 123s? Will you be using the light in extreme temperatures? These are just a few questions to consider.

-Mike

welphd

Newly Enlightened
I plan to put one in my car and one in my house for emergency purpose. Don't use them often. Rarely camping.

Xrunner

Flashlight Enthusiast
If you won't be using the light very often and there is a chance of harsh temperatures I would go with the 2L. The 10 year shelf life of 123s make them ideal for emergency lights.

-Mike

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've owned both lights (and still own two 2Ls) and other than general specs and such, they aren't really comparable lights. If my 2L looked like my 2xAA did, I'd be pretty upset.

Unless you really like the form factor of the 2xAA or you refuse to use lithiums, the 2L is the way to go. Or the 3C.

welphd

Newly Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
cratz2 said:
I've owned both lights (and still own two 2Ls) and other than general specs and such, they aren't really comparable lights. If my 2L looked like my 2xAA did, I'd be pretty upset.

Unless you really like the form factor of the 2xAA or you refuse to use lithiums, the 2L is the way to go. Or the 3C.

[/ QUOTE ]

Are we talking 3AA or 2AA?

4x4Dragon

Flashlight Enthusiast
the 2L isn't exactly a compact light so you might as well get the one that you think you'd be more willing to get batteries for. i personally have a used 3AA with some not-so-good beam tint(purplish-yellow) but I still LOVE the light!!! it's the perfect length for a duty light and would make a nice "head-knocker" for defense if necessary /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

JJHitt