Just finished my first 'Home made". Heat !!!!

Anglepoise

Flashlight Enthusiast
Just finished my first \'Home made\". Heat !!!!

Just finished my first homemade. I decided to make a task lite using a Lux III and a wall wart. I chose the Nflex driver.

Being a machinist, I had no problems with the can.
Used loc-line and a simple base.

Now being a newbie, I have spent considerable hours reading many posts on the forum.
From these posts, I was confident that I could make all the bits function together.

The one snag was heat. Even with a large can with cooling fins machined all over, the Lux III generated a 140° F temperature in the housing. And that was with the adjustable driver ( Nflex from George ) set at 750 ma. Never got to try 1000ma.

I was disappointed in so much heat being generated. I had read very little in the posts about such high heat. Now I realize that a task light can be switched on for a few hours, but many people are talking about LuxIII's in Mini Mag lites. Surely they would produce the same heat?

Or are they all running at 350 ma.

So hear I am with a huge lump of finned aluminum that I can not comfortably take to 1000ma.

My Bin on the Lux was TWAL. Would a 'K' bin run much cooler?

Any and all comments appreciated.

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
Re: Just finished my first \'Home made\". Heat !!!!

1) A K bin will run cooler.

2) If it levels off at 140 degrees it's within the safe zone for a Lux III.

3) Most minimags are not run for extended periods and/or are not run much above 500ma or so. Holding it in your hand keeps the heat from being excessive by using your hands as a heat sink.

Having posted this, you are now obligated to show us your new light!
/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Congrats on taking the plunge into home mades.

Daniel

Anglepoise

Flashlight Enthusiast