Where to get a sub $20 UV light?

Fitz

Flashlight Enthusiast
If $21.95 isn't too high, Peak has the prototype style AAA's w/ 3 LED's in UV on the discount page.

LINK

d'mo

Enlightened
CountryComm.comm has UV squeeze lights for $5.00. I just got one and am quite pleased with it.

kenny

Newly Enlightened
for less then $7, you can build a pretty powerful one out of a pill bottle, a 9 V battery and 4 UV LED's from Superbrightleds.com. wire 2 pairs in series and then those in parallel putting a 47 ohm resister on either leg. It is bright enough to make the scorpions glow from a standing position. Don't forget to shoegoo the LED's and the resisters on the back of the cap. Of course, I'm an engineer, and so can deal with the asthetics!

It really DOES have that mad-scientist look to it, people are amazed you can do that with a couple of household objects, a couple of resisters and an LED.

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Also try ebay. What does he want to use it for? 400nm is cheaper and the LEDs last longer, and 385nm is mroe expensive and the LEDs don't last as long.

For scorpions, black light posters, glo in the dark, 400nm should be fine.

LightHearted

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
kenny said:
for less then $7, you can build a pretty powerful one out of a pill bottle, a 9 V battery and 4 UV LED's from Superbrightleds.com. wire 2 pairs in series and then those in parallel putting a 47 ohm resister on either leg. It is bright enough to make the scorpions glow from a standing position. Don't forget to shoegoo the LED's and the resisters on the back of the cap. Of course, I'm an engineer, and so can deal with the asthetics!

It really DOES have that mad-scientist look to it, people are amazed you can do that with a couple of household objects, a couple of resisters and an LED.

[/ QUOTE ]

Sounds interesting. What do you do for a switch? I like this DIY stuff. Saves money and is fun to make.

kenny

Newly Enlightened