small - CMG Infinity vs Ultra vs Sonic

ps56k

Enlightened
I currently have a X-light coin light on my keychain,
and am looking for comments on swapping to a CMG Infinity, the CMG Infinity Ultra, or the CMG Sonic...

Echo63

Flashlight Enthusiast
just my .02 but the infinity is a little too dim unless you really need a long running light - the infinity ultra is pretty bright for a single 5mm led (about the same as what you have now i guess)
i used to edc a ultra on my keys for ages, it now rides loose in my jacket pocket
i have no experience with the sonics

gorlank

Enlightened
Of the three the Sonic is the only one I'd call a keychain light. The Infinity's are pretty thick to be put on a keychain. I have an old style Sonic that has the led recessed, have read in the new Gerber ones the led protrudes a bit. Light output is good but not quite as bright as the Arc AAA.

BTW, Peak makes a AAA prototype in brass for $19.95 in their discontinued section that might be a nice alternative. Mine are on the way, so I can do a quick review once I get my hands on one.

Mags

Flashlight Enthusiast
Nothing can Match the Arc AAA. I never owned one, but as far as key chain lights go, that is the best one EVER. Wish I have one /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon23.gif. I was really looking forward to my first Arc so you can imagine what I went through when I read a thread saying Arc was going out of business....

UnknownVT

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
ps56k said:I currently have a X-light coin light on my keychain, and am looking for comments on swapping to a CMG Infinity, the CMG Infinity Ultra, or the CMG Sonic...

[/ QUOTE ]

Of the lights you named I like the Ultra-G version from CountyComm best.

However having said that I think the Ultra-G is WAY too big for my keyring - of course YMMV.

I used to EDC the Ultra-G but in my "other" pocket - but I still kept a Photon yellow on the keyring - just because it was so small and almost-not-there.