FUTURE- Lux emitter mod, sharper and brighter

TrueBlue

Flashlight Enthusiast
Making a Lux emitter sharper and brighter-mod

How to get a sharper beam with more throw for virtually nothing using any Lux emitter? I've been doing this for a couple of months. It gives me a couple of percent increase in throw light with a sharper beam. It might not sound like much but it is an easy and permanent mod. LED lights can use all the help they can get. How's a couple of percent of light sound for no extra battery power and virtually no cost? And the Lux brightener item you use is probably already around the house or at the nearest grocery store.

Simply use Future Floor Wax and run a ring of the floor shine around your Lux emitter clear acrylic dome using your pinky finger. Then hang your emitter suspended upside down until the Future dries- about one hour but preferably overnight. The water-based Future is an extremely clear acrylic hard-shell coating that fills in small imperfections in the emitter acrylic dome. Since Future is self leveling it will cover imperfections and scratches in the emitter to give a sharper beam.

Hanging the emitter down until the Future dries allows the floor shine to puddle in the nose of the emitter forming a slight magnifier on the tip of the acrylic dome to help concentrate and throw the light beam a wee bit farther.

I know the pessimists and nay-sayers here would ask what about the heat peeling the Future and yellowing. I've had no problems with either. If you don't like the super clear coat you can always remove it with liquid ammonia.

Try using Future once and see how clear the emitter is after the application. You'll enjoy the sharper and brighter beam. For a brighter and shiner emitter…use Future! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

future_coated_emitter.jpg

pACE2-1046831dt.jpg

Raybo

Enlightened
OK haveblue, I just would like to know how you stumbled on this one. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif

WildRice