Adding Solder Blobs to Flat Tops

Dukester

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have never done this before myself. What type of solder should I use? Also, besides cleaning the pos end of the cell and lightly rubbing it down with a fine grit sand paper what other precautions should I be aware of? Will the heat from the solder have an adverse effect on the batt cells?

Thanks in advance...

Dave

PocketBeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
I can't answer all your questions, but I can say I got mine to work by dropping a drop of solder on the top. I couldn't get it to stick any other way.

Also this should be posted in the battery section of CPF, and you might get more responses that way.

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
All I can really say is that it can be dangerous.

Heating batteries of unknown construction containing unknown chemicals can lead to disasterous results. I'll leave it to someone else to give details on ways it can be done.

Daniel

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic
just solder like you would any big solder area, heat it up and feed the solder on it. If you are putting the cells in twisty type lights you may consider the silver solder that is something like 95% tin 5% silver or thereabouts, it should be harder and not squish flat. You may have to do it in 2-3 sessions if you don't get a big enough blob on it to not overheat the battery and damage it. I used a file and an emery board (fingernail file) to smooth off the blob, so if you get the blob too big it is probably easier to just grind it down instead of trying to take off some via soldering iron.

brightnorm

Flashaholic
For LED lights why not apply the blob to the LE? I do this with all my L4s,PR-Ts and Alephs and it works like a charm. I don't understand the advantage of blobbing the batteries.

Brightnorm

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
The only advantages:

You can use them like normal batteries if the form factor and voltage match;

It's used in a simple reverse polarity protection scheme.