Dishwasher repair or replacement?

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
Help? I've got a Sears "Ultra Wash" dishwasher (going on 8 years old). Yesterday when starting it, it came "on" for a few seconds and stopped...did it a few more times.

Can't get it to finish a load, keeps trying to "start" and then turns off. I understand some try to heat up the water before washing...our water temp isn't the problem.

Fix it or replace it? I've got no experience with dishwasher at all.

Any thoughts, opinions, experience, or troubleshooting tips?

kitelights

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've got a close friend in the business that does repairs - I'll stop by and ask, but it'll take me at least a day.

I repaired mine a couple of years ago - it was the motor that sells for about $100-125 and he just gave me a used one that looked like brand new.

Some of the repairs are dirt cheap parts and others are not worth fixing. There have been quite a bit of improvements in dishwashers over the last several years.

pedalinbob

Flashlight Enthusiast
[ QUOTE ]
was_jlh said:
Sigman, have you tried www.repairclinic.com? They have good info, I have used them in the past.

[/ QUOTE ]

ditto.

i put new rollers and belt in my dryer for less than $50 for the parts, shipped.
it was pretty simple, really.

you should research it, and see if it might be something easy to repair.

but it could be an excuse to buy a nicer one!

Bob

Flying Turtle

Flashaholic
Had to get a serviceman recently. Dishwasher would not drain. It seems a couple tiny little silicone feet from a cutting board had gotten through the filters to wedge themselves in the drain pump. No parts to replace, but it still cost around $100. Sigman, in your case I wonder if the door switch/latch could be the culprit. This would certainly stop the washer like you describe if it wasn't engaging. Good Luck!

Geoff

LightChucker

Enlightened