First post, seek buying advice (Arc ls/KL1)

grift

Enlightened
hi and thnks for all the great informative, and interesting posts. ive been reading the boards for months now and finally broke down and ordered me a Arc AAA LE yesterday
grin.gif
i've been trying to avoid getting into this flashlight buying addictive persona by only reading about all the cool lights and telling myself they are still too dang expensive. i came to realize a LONG time ago i have an addictive, obsessive, personality that sometimes gets my wallet into trouble
rolleyes.gif

anyways it seems that well now that the buying has begun i want to get me another sweet light. i'm an electrician and sometimes need light in crawl spaces and attics to see what im doing. i'm looking for a small compact light i can carry in my pocket that will be bright w/decent runtime. i've narrowed it to a few choices and this is where i need the real flashaholics advice
winkie.GIF

choices:

ARC LS hybrid
Surefire E1e w/KL1
surefire E2e w/KL1
or wait for the ARC LS2 rev2

remember im looking for brightness, compactness for carry, runtime, and cost of operating the light.

thnks for any advice.
Eritt

WaltH

Enlightened
I've seen several seconds and a first. I have to disagree with GJW. Let's also look at the application of the light. What distance do you need to get out of it? Any waterproof requirements?
If you read the KL1 posts on this board there are a fair number that dislike the blueish tint of it. I don't happen to be one of them but you need to weigh that as well. It's true you can get adapters made to use the KL1 with AA's but then it doesn't match...consider that

I think the KL1 is a great light and enjoy the one I have but for your application I would still suggest the LS2.

GJW

Flashlight Enthusiast
$75 for an SLS that could be bright or not, well focused or not, nicely anodized or not, and could range in color from bright white all the way to dim yellow. Runs on 1x123 lithium or 2xAA.

versus