Ideas for Tracking lights?

jasonp

Newly Enlightened
Hola guys. My first post. I need some ideas on a good light. I'm an Agent with the US Border Patrol and we rely on our flashlights extensively. I carry a stream light stinger and love the output/beam. As you know however, the output is short lived. This just doesn't cut the mustard when you are tracking a group of drug smugglers, etc. at night for 4+ hours or more. A few details for you; when tracking with a flashlight, you have to hold your light close to the ground and parallel to it as well. This creates a shadow effect on the ridges of tracks (foot prints) IF the light you are using puts out a good beam this technique works well. NOTE: flood lights don't work well for this.
Take one of your good beam lights and one of your flood type lights outside, step in the dirt, and then hold both lights (individually) very close and parallel to the ground aiming across the track. You will see what I am talking about. Difficult to explain unless you see it I guess.