how to convert from pegasus mail

turbodog

Flashaholic
This is a little info for anyone using pegasus mail. I have been using it since at least 1992 or so, and have a tremendous amount of messages built up. I had considered changing to outlook express or something else because pegasus's author is unsure about the future of the program.

That said, I've been looking for a way to convert my messages out of there. It seems that pegasus is about the only mail client that the other ones do not automatically import from. I don't know if that's because pegasus is obscure (which I really doubt) or that they're subtly trying to choke it out of existence.

In any case..... after months of searching I have finally found the way to convert all my stuff. I am posting this in case there's another forum member out there with the same problem. For what it's worth.... the method I used should work to import stuff into pegasus as well. However, this isn't a real issue since pegasus will read eudora's messages, and eudora is a mail client that will exchange with outlook express, netscape, and others.

First, I made sure I was running th latest pegasus, v 4.12c
Then, I loaded eudora 6.2 (latest).
Then I loaded and ran mailconv. I forgot where I found this program, bt if you search for pegasus and mailconv.zip you should find it. If you need it, pm me and I'll send you a copy.

Mailconv converted pegasus to eudora, but it lost the folder names. I went through and renamed the folders. I had several nested folders and it put all them on the same level.

After this, it was easy to import into outlook express.

Results:
After importing about 5000 messages and checking most all of them I did not lose a message. A few messages with bad dates were automatically assigned today's date.