How Reliable are Bin Codes?

LightScene

Enlightened
Every emitter on a roll of 100 is given the same bin code.
But those emitters won't all have the same brightness or tint or forward voltage. But how much variation is common?

It seems like people in this forum think that the bin code is completely reliable, whereas this unreliability is the root of the commonly used, but sometimes misunderstood phrase "Luxeon lottery".

Maybe someone who has experience with rolls of Luxeons can tell us how much variation they expect to find within a roll.

Robban

Enlightened
I'd say they're very reliable. Why would they use them if they weren't? The lottery is just a question of which bin you end up with in your light.

But I'm a newb and could more than likely be completely wrong. I'll sit back and wait for the pros hehe.

D-LIGHT

Newly Enlightened
Do a search and find Mr Bulk's discussion of BIN codes from about a year ago. They are extremely unreliable and that is why he grades each led and doesn't depend upon the roll BIN.

LightScene

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
D-LIGHT said:
Do a search and find Mr Bulk's discussion of BIN codes from about a year ago. They are extremely unreliable and that is why he grades each led and doesn't depend upon the roll BIN.

[/ QUOTE ]
Thanks. I didn't know it was that bad.

Be careful what conclusions you draw based only on your emitter's bin code. It may not be what it says it is.

LightScene

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
Robban said:
I'll sit back and wait for the pros hehe.

[/ QUOTE ]
That's why I started this thread.
Many people haven't been exposed to this information.
Remember, they are binning the entire ROLL at once, not the individual emitters.

LightScene

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
Robban said:
The lottery is just a question of which bin you end up with in your light.

[/ QUOTE ]