Should I fork over the cash for an EDC light?

jdempsey

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie to the LED scene but have been investigation options for several weeks. I recently bought an Inova T3 and love it for it's throw and apparent quality. I need a smaller, easy carry....perhaps with variable power. I've looked at the EDC's and am impressed ...but they're steep $$$...I've also considered an Arc LS (seen several on Ebay).....but would consider other options.
I'm looking for reasonable light time with good (maybe variable) brightness. Something to move around a house, campsite or tent but not necessarily the output of the T3
Anybody have any advice?

daloosh

Flashaholic*,
Hey jdempsey, welcome to CPF, why dontcha stay awhile!

Um, the answer to your question, is, ah, YES!

welcome again,
daloosh

paulr

Flashaholic
The Nuwai Q3 at around $40 is a favorite around here recently. 3 watt Luxeon, good smooth beam, 1x123, HA2 finish, not the best looking or toughest light in the world, but excellent in function and a big bargain.

I wouldn't spend big bucks on an Arc LS these days. It's a classic and has sentimental value to many, but it's like buying an Apple II or something. If you want a high-end light, try an Aleph from the McGizmo forum ($170 and up). They are really well designed lights and have a very intuitive 2-stage switch.

Really though, for just something to "move around a house, campsite or tent", a keychain light (Photon or equivalent) or an Arc AAA/Peak 1AAA/CMG Ultra/etc. really should do you just fine. KevinL is selling some very nice Photon II clones for $1.25 each. At that price it's worth buying a bunch so everyone in your family can have one.

KevinL

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif