Pulsing a luxeon

Amonra

Enlightened
Has anyone ever tried pulsing a luxeon ( fast enough so that it is not visible to the naked eye ) ?

Im not an expert but wouldn't pulsing increase runtime?
I guess the LED would also run at a cooler temp, or even allow the increase of current without damaging the led thus increasing the brightness.

Also since small batteries do not allow large currents to pass through for an extended period of time due to internal resistance wouldn't pulsing rid us from that problem thus allowing the use of smaller batteries for larger currents?

i.e. a smaller, cooler/brighter, longer running flashlight.

Are my assumptions right or did i get something wrong ?

*Retired*
No, pulsing doesn't increase runtime beyond the time it is on. Add up all the pulses, and the runtime is the same.

The Luxeon itself is actually more efficient at lower currents. It can be up to 253% more efficient at lower currents vs. pulsing. Even for pulses as short as 1/1,000,000 of a second.

There is an old tale about pulsing being brighter to the eye when you pulse. It is one of those bogus tales. Sam talks a bit about it in Sam's FAQ, use google.

Use the search function here and enter PWM for the keyword. I recently did a bunch of testing on PWM dimming vs. current dimming.

Also, the higher current pulses cause significantly more loss in the battery.

OddOne

Enlightened
I built a PWM-drive circuit to fire pulses through some 1-watt Luxeons, and got an amp at a time into one with a duty cycle of 5%. VERY overdriven, so there's no guarantee whatsoever that a single pulse wouldn't turn the chip bonding wire into a fuse. Also, they do get hot, FAST, even when pulsed at a very low duty cycle.

They make good camera strobes with single pulses. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

oO

Amonra

Enlightened
ok forget the higher current bit.