Need advice on safely slowing down window fan

LightYear

Newly Enlightened
I know this is not about lights, and I'm not a total newbie. Just registered a new name because I didn't like my old one. Here's my quest.
I'm looking for a way to slow down my Bionaire BW2300 window fan in order to make it quieter. It's already a pretty quiet fan (they don't come much quieter) and you can't really hear the motors run at all. It's the noise of the moving air that I want to get lower. This is for a small recording studio where I sit right near the fan, which is between two speakers. I cannot change the layout of the studio so I have to sit in front of this fan while recording and listening. One might say just turn the fan off, but I smoke, so the fan will be on. Try telling a smoking musician he can't smoke while tracking. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crackup.gif
So, I'm looking for a SAFE way to electrically mod the fan or put some kind of power soak between it and the AC outlet to make it spin at a slower RPM.
My question goes out to all the electrically able around here. Can this be done? Any ideas? I hope it's simple enough since it's just a fan. A complicated, feature rich one, but still just a fan.

eluminator

Flashlight Enthusiast
It depends on what kind of motor it uses. If it's a "universal" motor I think the speed can be controlled by the voltage, like a DC motor. The bigger AC motors are "quasi-synchronized" to the AC frequency and can only be run at certain speeds.

James S

Flashlight Enthusiast