SF L2 Lumamax

Tecstar1

Newly Enlightened
Being a newbie, I was interested in the SF L2. However, I don't see much discussion on this model. Any comments from those with experience using this light or recommendations on something better in the salve price would be very helpful.

Thanks,

Ron

MrBenchmark

Enlightened
Hi Tecstar1, welcome to CPF!

I have an L2, and I think it's a terrific light. What I like:
- really useful dual level: Low is bright enough for most of my uses. High really lights up a room
- both high and low level are regulated
- lovely flood type beam, the so-called "wall of light."
- reasonably compact size
- really an amazing general purpose light.

The size of the light is it's biggest negative to some. It's about the same size (slightly bigger) as a mini-maglite. (The 2 AA battery mag.) If you have one of those, it's an excellent approximation for the size of the L2. If you think a mini-mag is too large for your purposes, the L2 will definitely be too large.

I use mine all the time, and I don't have any real problems carrying with me most of the time. But there are certainly smaller lights. Only odd thing about the light is that it emits a high-pitched whine on it's low setting. I can barely hear this when the light is right next to my ear, so for me this is no problem - just odd.

The L4 is a very similar light. It's essentially an L2 with only the high-level output. It's a bit smaller because it lacks the dual level functionality. (Although you can buy an after-market tailcap for it from McGizmo that offers similar capability.)