mag 85 assembly

offroadcmpr

Enlightened
How do you build a mag 85. I've read stuff about it but I'm new to this so the fine details dont make a lot of sense. can I have some one build it for me, if not where do I get the parts to build it myself. It sounds so good but I dont know how to get it.

bjn70

Flashlight Enthusiast
There is almost no "building" to it, other than taking out the old parts and putting in the new parts. The hard part is FINDING all of the parts you need.

In short, you need a new lens, reflector, bulb, bulb socket, batteries, battery holder. That's 6 different things from 6 different places. Then you put it all together.

paulr

Flashaholic
Bjn, that description just hits it perfectly. One thing not mentioned is that each of those parts (except the batteries and lens) is not that easy to get. You can't just order them whenever you feel like it, you have to wait for the next group buy or batch to be made, or wait til your missing shows up on B/S/T and pounce on it before someone else does. Also, you need at least one battery charger, maybe several if you want to charge all the batteries at the same time.

I have most of the parts for an Mag85BT with a few more expected to arrive soon (WA bulbs and MC switch core) from the group buys, but I've begun to think it's kind of a questionable project. An MC60 is almost as bright, much more practical to use (drop-in charger), is much easier to acquire (buy a stock Magcharger and put in a 1160 bulb), and ends up costing about the same. If you get the 3-to-D's and 1185 bulb, you can upgrade it to an MC85 and still use the stock charger by removing one resistor.

offroadcmpr

Enlightened