How many candela?

beav

Newly Enlightened
I need to make a light that has a minimum of 30 candela output (omni-directional) and I have no reference of how much that really is.

Can anyone give me some kind of reference to help me visualize how much light this is??

For instance, how many candela would a white 1W luxeon lambertian LED (with no optics or reflector) put out? I am familiar with how much light those put out, so I can use those as a reference... I looked through the datasheets and they only list luminous flux - and I don't know how to compare that to candela (or if they are comparable...)

Thanks for answering a noob's question...

nerdgineer

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is all abstract as I have no practical experience making lights, but:

True omni-directional light seems difficult. No single LED provides a beam wider than 70 degrees or so, so it would take some number of them arranged regularly (i.e. with 3D symmetry) to shine light in all directions, and it would probably require something like a frosted glass globe to diffuse their light evenly as each LED would not have even lighting across its beamwidth.

Geometrically, there are 5 kinds or regular 3D shapes (polyhedra) as noted here. They have 4, 6, 8, 12, and 20 sides, and that's it.

You could use one of those polyhedra as a guide for pointing your LEDs inside the diffusing globe. Using such an arrangement with more LEDs would of course provide more even light sources for your diffusing globe. I would use low dome Luxeon type LEDs with no optics to get the widest beam possible.