I think I've narrowed it down...

berklee46

Newly Enlightened
I think I\'ve narrowed it down...

Wow, I'm still new here and am amazed at the amount of information I've found here. I am just learning about LED's and I can't believe that I've spent weeks actually researching and looking up specs for a flashlight! I can see how it becomes addicting though. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Anyway, I a PO and have had a Streamlight Stinger as my backup light for about 10+ years. Aside from it seeming to be getting pretty tired, my natural inclination is to want something new every so often, so I'm looking to replace it with a similar sized LED light.

I recently picked up a Vortex KC-1 and really like it, but was even more impressed when I got my Nuwai Q-III - what a great light.

Since I can see the difference between the 1 watt Vortex and the 3 watt Nuwai, I think I'd like to get a 5 watt light. And since I will use it every day, obviously it being rechargeable is very important as well.

I've got it narrowed down to the following lights (in no particular order):

Rechargeables:
1. Vortex TR-5 5 watt rechargeable (105 Lumens)

2. Surefire L7 LumaMax Rechargeable 5-watt (75 Lumens)

3. Inova T-4 4 watt (100 Lumens)

Non-Rechargeables:
1. Ombu X-55 5 watt (65/75 Lumens - depending on what literature you read)

2.Cabela's XPG 5 Watt (115 Lumens)

If one of the non-rechargeables is clearly the superior light, I guess I could go with a charger and some spare 123 batteries if I really had to. Also, I'm not that concerned with spending some money in order to get something that I'll be using daily for several more years. I just want to make sure it's something that will kind of blow me away and make it worth scrapping my Stinger.

Thanks,
Scott

TORCH_BOY

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: If you can stand one more \"Help me choose...\"

Welcome to CPF, If you have a few bucks to spare go for the
Surefire L7 LumaMax Rechargeable 5-watt

berklee46

Newly Enlightened

[ QUOTE ]