Snow LED

pur3h8r3d

Newly Enlightened
Ok, I'm kinda new to all of this. Mr friend got me into Flashlights and I was going to purchase the McKinley 3v CR123 7LED Type III HA Hi-Power from www.peakledsolutions.com and I was wondering which color LED I should get. Snow or White? I will be using this to work on the inside of computers and I'm not sure which one would suit me best. My Friend said White but the snow looks brighter. Help? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

maninblack

Newly Enlightened
I think most people here would prefer the tint of the snow as opposed to the white. White 5mm leds tend to be pretty blue. I would def go for the snow if you want accurate color rendition.

pur3h8r3d

Newly Enlightened
yea i was leaning torwards the snow because it looked better and almost brighter on the color charts but i just didnt know for sure

Former_Mag_User

Enlightened
Craig, whose idea was it to send you a 1xAAA PEAK with a red LED?

(If it was your idea, no offense meant! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif )

TORCH_BOY

Flashlight Enthusiast
pur3h8r3d
Welcome to the jungle

I have heard of white and warm white Luxeon LEDS
warm white more like that of an incadescent lamp

BentHeadTX

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have a Peak AAA 3 snow LED high output and it is whiter than my Arc AAA-P. The whiter the light, the easier it is to see the markings on chips, etc.

My Peak AA 5 snow LED brass light is whiter than my Ivova X-5 although not brighter. I passed on the HO option on the AA, figured the cell would have enough problems driving 5 LEDs. Go for the snow!

davidra

Enlightened
Agreed. I have a brass standard 1 LED and a 3 LED snow. The snow LED's are definitely whiter (and of course much brighter given there are three of them).

The_LED_Museum

*Retired*
[ QUOTE ]
Former_Mag_User said:

(If it was your idea, no offense meant! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif )

[/ QUOTE ]