PT Matrix LED module woes.

Darkaway

Enlightened
PT Matrix LED module woes.

I'm a newbie that linked here from a backpacking forum and now I'm hooked. You guys are great and much more civil toward one another than those on some other forums. I think the "addiction" had been lying dormant in my subconscious and it took this forun to bring it out.

In the few months since I stumbled upon this site I have bought an arc AAA and SLS,E1e/KL1,G2,Scorpion,Infinity Ultra,Reactor,SL Septor and Clipmate,BB500,PT 20,40,Impact and many Wal-Mart cheapies. Many more to come..........

Here's my question. My PT Matrix module's performance is disappointing to say the least
frown.gif
. Is there any way to tweak it for more brightness? I'm more concerned with intensity than runtime. There is a site elsewhere that shows an adjustable pot on the unit but mine has no such animal. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Lux Luthor

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: PT Matrix LED module woes.

I don't think you can unless you have the older style with the pot.

Personally, I would use a Luxeon star. I've driven white side emitters at 100ma or less and they still blow the Matrix right out of the water, and have several times the throw.

Charles Bradshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast

The Matrix Module is not designed for brightness. It is designed for regulated light level of up to 40 hours on 2 alkaline AAs and 100+ hours on 2 Lithium AAs. It is meant for walking, not picking things out at a distance.

The Versalux PR-2 LED bulb is actually brighter and only 1 LED. However, it is alkalines only.

The Matrix headlamp itself, comes with both the Matrix Module and the incandescant module w/smooth reflector for bright and longer throw.

Lux Luthor

Flashlight Enthusiast

Originally posted by Charles Bradshaw:
The Matrix Module is not designed for brightness...
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I think PT certainly accomplished that design goal.
grin.gif