Need some Re-training in Recharging

berklee46

Newly Enlightened
After only a few weeks of joining this forum, not only have I spent a few hundred dollars on lights that I didn't *need* (at least until I got here /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/icon3.gif) , but I also realized that my knowledge of rechargeables is weak to say the least.

I'm a police officer and have used rechargeable flashlights for almost 15 years without giving them any thought. After my shift, I'd just toss the light back into the charger in my locker until my next shift...

I just bought a couple new lights in my effort to "downsize" some of my gear - a Surefire L4 to replace my Stinger, and a Tigerlight 8" to replace my Maglite.
For the L4, I bought a couple Pila Li-Ions and a charger, and the Tigerlight comes with a NiMH battery and charger.

If you've made it down this far, I'm getting to my point now.:)
#1 From my reading, I now know that it's *bad* to keep the Tigerlight in the charger all the time. Since I work 4 days on and 2 off, I could keep it off the charger for the 4 days, but how much damage would I be doing by keeping it on the charger for the 2 full days that I'm off? The idea of having to come back to the station on my days off just to unplug my flashlight is a bit unrealistic.

#2 Finally, from what I understand, it's ok to keep the Pila Li-Ion bulbs in the charger during my days off, right?

Thanks for the patience and input. I'm slowly learning, but for now I want to make sure I do things right with these new lights.

Scott

turbodog

Flashaholic
The pila cells have circuitry built into them that will actually take themselves off the charger, so they're pretty much ok to leave on. Furthermore, the lithium chemistry is tolerant of pretty much any type of charging schedule you want.