Update Surefire 6R to Current Standards?

vontech

Newly Enlightened
I purchased a Surefire 6R in a standard black body and regular incandescent lens 10 years ago. After reading LOTS of posts here, I'd like to know what I could add to this light to "fully" accessorize it with modern toys, such as a new LED head, rechargeable batteries, lenses, LEDS, etc. I'd like to maintain the small form factor of the light as a pocket light.

I'm a total newbie here, and my recent insomnia is costing me a small fortune, since I seem to buy lights when I can't sleep.... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif

Any advice is appreciated.

vontech

Newly Enlightened
**bump** /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

What I mean is that I now have a 10-year old 6R light, but I guess I have some newbie questions ...

1. What are the differences between a 6P and a 6R?
2. Can I use rechargeable 123's, and if so, which ones (and charger too)?
3. Is the KL2 LED conversion head the right one for this light?
4. What is the highest intensity incandescent bulb available for this? Is it the P61?

Or overall, perhaps more importantly, does anyone think it makes sense to pump new money into this old light? Or am I better just purchasing a new Surefire model like the E1E and going from there?

Thanks in advance for any answers/advice you can offer.

KevinL

Flashlight Enthusiast
The 6P is shorter, because it only takes two CR123 cells. I am not sure whether your 6R's body has two parts that can unscrew, but if you can remove the extender, you can turn it into a 6P and use two CR123 batteries with it.

Unlikely you can use rechargeable 123s because they have different voltages and will blow the 6P's lamp.