simple setup for a nightlight

Weylan

Enlightened
Hello all I am new here posting, but have been lurking a while.

I had a thought for trying to make what I thought was a fairly simple thing. Gads so this sort of started as a simple thought. I am not an engineer, but I can solder sort of.

I am looking for ideas on how to get a few features into a light source.

I have a 2 year old who sleeps in the same room with us, so don't really want to turn on the lights.

I was thinking of something that is a nightlight / navigation light.

It would have 1 RED LED as a night light.
It should have 3 to 4 white leds for use as a navigation light in the dark.
2 lights on or half low light white led mode for sort of an ambient light mode.

Full on for searching for the baby's toys.

It does not have to be totally small, but smaller is better.
It does not have to look like a flashlight too much, but needs to be able to stable and point up.

should run on 2-4 AA or AAA rechargable batteries for economy.

Should have a reasonably long runtime in ECONOMY modes.

I have a CMG Blaze that works ok, but it is kind of lacking in form and function. Can you say the button is cheesey!
I have a Petzel Zippka Plus headlight that is awsome for form and function, but could have a bit more economy and no RED light super economy mode.

Here is what I was thinking.

I was thinking of a project box or an etneralight housing like device.

The RED LED points up. There is a 3 positon switch that controls OFF, LOW and HIGH for the RED LED.

The white LEDs point forward and have a 3 position switch that controls
OFF, 2 LEDS and 4 LEDS.

Tritum vial or some kind of glow paint to help find the light in the dark. (Cool factor would be the Tritum.)
----

Can anyone help me out here? I am looking for ideas of how to set this up a little better.