Mac PowerBook G4

Chop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hey guys,

About six months ago, I bought a 12" model of the powerbook and immediately fell in love with it. It was really small and very well built. The operating system was killer. I kept thinking that it was what Windows should have been.

Anyway, I had two problems with it. I'm an attorney and I exchange documents with other attorneys. I had never even thought about it before, but after getting the Mac, I realized how many attorneys are using WordPerfect. What made me realize it was the fact that I couldn't find a converter to convert these documents to my format of choice, which is Word. Even Mac Office doesn't include a converter.

Have any of you out there had this problem and found a solution?

My second problem was that my PDA of choice has always been a model based on PocketPC. I couldn't find anyway of reliably syncing my PPC with the PowerBook. Are there any solutions.

I'm asking because I wound up returning the PowerBook and got a Sony Vaio PCG-V505EX. All I can say is that the Sony is a piece of junk, compared to the Mac in terms of build quality. I've only had it for about six months and the keyboard is already giving me trouble and the battery is about shot.

Any help would be appreciated, especially since the newer models of the PowerBooks now have faster processors. Just more to love.

Thanks,

Tony, I've had (and am using right now) a Sony Vaio PCG-R505GL for the past two years. In the past month I've had some big-time powering-off problems, but have not had anything significant until recently. I would LOVE to have a Mac Powerbook after seeing them at our local Apple store. They are so sweet. I wish you had come to find some resolution on your compatibility issues before bailing on the Mac. Surely Apple has come up with some sort of converter for Word files.

Saaby

Flashaholic