Cree UV Xlamp in Inova X1 (Lots of pix)... more pi

vacuum3d

Enlightened
This is my first time posting a mod, please be gentle.

Inspired by Newbie's post here on the Cree Xlamp UV led, I experimented with these powerful leds and was determined to make one that has throw. The hardest part is finding a suitable reflector/optics for the led because the focal point is different from Luxeon.

After having fooled around with over a dozen options, I've decided on the Inova X1 host to be the most suitable for the Cree because 1) it has a built-in aspherical lens (necessary for throw due to viewing angle of the Cree is different from Luxeon); 2) it has enough room for a BadBoy sandwich; and 3) it is built like a tank.

The mod is made possible by the following people...
Newbie for introducing the Cree Xlamp UV to CPF and for constantly providing useful information not available to the rest of us; belyo for showing us the Freeze-and-Pop method for disassemling the Inova X1; and dat2zip for the bad a$$ BadBoy. All I did was put together other people's great work.

Here are a few pix. Comments/questions welcomed.

The head assembly showing a thin BabBoy 500 sammie. The Cree is hidden inside the barrel.
01010018.JPG

Top view of head assembly. The Cree is mounted on a turned down dime. Could you see the Green Glow powder surrounding the led? Soldering and fitting this bugger inside the barrel is extremely tricky.
01010015.JPG

The whole thing before I put it all back.
01010019.JPG

The finished product. It is driven by a BadBoy 500. Powered by a 14500 Li-Ion.
01010023.JPG

Looking down the barrel. Small trace of Green Glow.
01010024.JPG

Same view as last pix, but no flash. Green Glow Powder was charge by turning on the flashlight previously.
01010025.JPG

Some beam shots...

This is against the wall a meter away.
01010026.JPG

The same shot another five feet away from the wall.
01010028.JPG

Comparison... Left to Right... Cree UV, ebay 7-led UV, Peak UV.
01010029.JPG