Optics help, please.

Cypher

Enlightened
I've had a project running through my head that would require a good hotspot with little or no sidespill. I'd like maybe a 2 inch hotspot at a 17-21 inch working distance. I haven't decided yet what I will use as a light source but either a high power 5mm like the MJLED or an underdriven Lux3. What kind of optics are available (if any) that can produce a beam with these characteristics? I have read that a high dome led with a fraen optic can produce a pretty tight beam but I have no personal experience with it. Is a fraen equally compatible with a 5mm or lux3? Also I would need it to be fairly small in diameter. Not much larger around than a solitaire if possible but up to the diameter of a 2AA minimag would be ok. I have seen fraen optics cut down for use in a firefly listed at the sandwich shoppe. Could that be a possibility?

The most important of my criteria are that it have an intense hotspot with little or no sidespill. No sidespill would be best. It will be led based. If anyone has any suggestions I'd really appreciate it. I'm still learning.

Cypher

Enlightened
I have read about the tight beam an X1 produces but I am trying to build something myslef to keep it very small. I basically want to build my own headlamp for use in dentistry. I need the small size so it can attach to my loupes without adding too much extra weight. I want it to run off a remote battery pack that could either be attached to my belt or in a pocket. I need a focused beam that will illuminate the mouth but not the patient's eyes. I know I could just buy a production headlamp but I don't know of any that have such a focused beam and they are all more bulky than I want. I would also like to stay away from a headband if possible. An example of what I want to build can be seen at www.surgitel.com under products and then illumination.

Mags

Flashlight Enthusiast