mods for a SF 9z?

gumby223

Newly Enlightened
First I'd like to say hello to everyone. I've been a flashlight nut for years now, and I just found this site. It's great, I never would have known there were so many other flashlight nuts like me out there. haha Also, I'm just getting started and I've already been offered help posting pics on the site, thanks comseur, which let's me know that yall really care and can be helpful.

Anyway, I am a police officer in the Houston, TX area and lights are a part of my life. I couldn't do without them. I have an old surefire 9z that I carry on my belt and I use it when I don't have my big flashlight with me (sl20xp or sl20xpled, which ever one i have charged at the time). I'm interested in modding the 9z if there are any possibilities out there. It takes three cr123's and it has a p90 bulb assembly in it. I was thinking of a drop in led bulb assembly or something to that effect. I need it to be bright, like around 120 to 200 lumens (I think the p90 puts out 120), and I don't want to go through batteries all the time. If you look at the pic I've posted, you can see I have a red filter on it as well. I need to be able to keep that on, or get a new one to fit the new light head/bulb assembly. I use this for tactical reasons, i.e. I don't want to let the bad guys know where I'm at until I'm ready to blind them with the light. I did do a search for the 9z, and I couldn't find any previous posts (this light is so old that some of you probably haven't even heard of it, or maybe you have, lol). I like the pila gl4 with the 195 lumens, but the head on it is big (maybe too big for a red filter), it is long, and the tailcap is big. Which brings me to another point.