Newbie Maglite conversion questions

go_to_the_light

Newly Enlightened
I am new to LED mods. I recently bought a few LED lights and love them. The problem is that I have a bunch of Maglites (3-2D, 1-3D, 4-2AA) and I want to convert some of them to LED, but I don't want to pay a bunch of $$. I checked out some of the pre-made solutions, and was turned off by $40 price for the D cells.

Can I hack a costco light to work with the Maglites? Can these work with the D cell and AA lights? This would be pretty inexpensive since they are about $10 each. Are these any other inexpensive ways to covnvert these?

Thanks!

Pajamas

Newly Enlightened
Do a search on MJLEDs for your 2AA minimags.

Better yet, here is one link.

As for the others - it will take more time and $$, but try this link.

Hope that helps.

UnknownVT

Flashlight Enthusiast
For the MiniMags - 2AA or even 2AAA - for me it has to be the MJLED - good brightness - a bit brighter than the standard incandescent - much improved beam quality/smoothness and HUGE runtime of 30+ hours (reported) on plain alkalines. All for just about $6 shipped.

Some of us have written nearly a whole book on it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif -
lots of comparison beamshots and lots of feedback and useful hints -

MJLED drop-in for MiniMag 2AA

MJLED2_S1801new.jpg

gadgetnerd

Enlightened
Hi go_to_the_light. I've been very happy with the Terralux Ministar2 and Microstar1. They're not too expensive (~$20-25 US) and easy to install. Both run very nicely off NiMH rechargables too.

Ministar = 1W luxeon. Should give 5+ hours from 2xAA. Very bright, but not the smoothest beam.

Microstar = 0.7W nichia (I think). Should give 15+ hours from 2xAA. Not as bright as the Ministar. Smoother beam with nice blue/white hotspot, but significant yellow rings (which might annoy you if you're a white beam purist - I'm not). Also works in 2xAAA Maglite.