I need a new light, any recommendations?

Aeryk

Newly Enlightened
I work as a security guard and I have been carrying a Mag 3D for years. I mostly use it when I am on outdoor patrols to light up parking areas and such.

I like the 3D for its size (doubles as a great club, just in case) and its durability (Ive had the same one for years, its been dropped, rained on, snowed on, abused, neglected, etc and still works fine)

I dislike the 3D because it eats batteries and bulbs...I would love to upgrade to a similar LED based light, or even get a good LED based PR replacement bulb, preferrably without having to spend an entire paycheck to do so.

I picked up a cheapo 3-LED PR bulb off ebay to try out, it lasts forever but its pathetically dim...

Are there any PR replacement bulbs that would be considered bright at the 100 feet range? I was looking around the net and the Epieon, sounds pretty good...is it worth the $40 price tag? Should I hold out till the EverLED becomes available? Any others around that would be good quality/brightness/price?

Other than replacement bulbs what about similar size/toughness LED based flashlights? The ElektroLumens "Blaster II" caught my eye, I like the look and feel of aluminum body lights. Most of the LED based lights I have seen look to be aiming for the 'smaller is better' market, Id prefer one that I could use to crack some heads if I had to.

Suggestions, recommendations, etc?

Thanks,
Aeryk

x-ray

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'd go with the elektrolumens Blaster II, had mine a few days now and I'm very impressed with it.

The combination of a bright white luxeon star and those amazing 30mm optics really give incandescent flashlights a run for their money.

You'll get 24 hours of high brightness before it noticeably dims, it's large enough to use as a club
twak.gif
and you'll never need another bulb.

***EDIT***

You can see some beam shots here and here

Aeryk

Newly Enlightened