clipless pedals=ouch

flownosaj

Flashlight Enthusiast
I bought a pair of clipless pedals for my bike a few days ago and put them on yesterday. I've now got a big bruise on my hip, scratched the paint on my bike and a derailuer nocked out of allignment.

Let me explain.

It's my first time using these--once you've clipped into them you have to twist your feet at an unfamiliar angle to get them out. Other than that they work great.

I wound up doing a quick stop and started to cant to my side before I got my foot out. There's nothing like a rush of adrenalin and panic to make you forget everything you practiced about 10 minutes ago /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/rolleyes.gif
About a second later I was lying on my side swearing up a storm and assessing the damage--still trying to get my feet out.

Chalk this one up to inexperience.

Anybody do something like that before?

etnt

Newly Enlightened
Try using SPD with tension set to loose. It has very little float and a little twist will disengage it.

cy

Flashaholic
ya, when you first start using clipless. getting used to them is most dangerous stage.

Time mountainbike clipless have smoothest release. cleats are brass, mated to stainless spring bars. natually anti-sizing when it counts.

Lurker

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think everyone who has ever switched to clipless has done the same thing at least a time or two. I know I did. In fact I think I bent the crank arm on my bike by falling on it that way. It was a very slight bend, but the constant pronation started to make my knee hurt, so I had to replace it.

But once you get used to them and start using them on the upstroke, you will never go back. It's like having an extra set of legs pedaling for you.

AtomSphere

Enlightened
i use SPD to learn how to bunny hop. But generally i don't use those. Look like a fool when you cannot unhook it and fall on your side

ernsanada

Flashlight Enthusiast