Mag 3D mod questions

Ilikeshinythings

Enlightened
I am probably the newest newbie on the block, and I'm pretty new in the flashlight craze, but I have decided to mod my black 3D maglite to a luxeonIII with a hotlips heatsink, and UCL lens. I took apart my black maglite 3D to get an idea of what I'm up against, and I encountered what looks to be like a problem. In MrBulks directions, there must be two wires soldered into the switch housing. One goes to that little metal strip, and the other to the very bottom where there is a metal contact plate. However, the wire that is to be soldered onto the metal contact plate has nowhere to go once the switch is slid back into the plastic harness. Am I missing something here? I haven't yet started the mod (or bought any of the parts for it...) but hopefully this is easily completed. I did look at Mr Bulks website under space needle instructions, but I am still confused as to how the wire is going to be able to find its way through the switch that settles inside the directly on top of the wire. Also I do not know very much about binning so does anybody have a recommendation for a good (bright) white LED with excellent throw? Dang this is long. Sorry!

-DanK

PS--I'm not gonna call it the dankneedle anymore...I dunno if Mr. Bulk would appreciate that..but I will name it something appropriate!

PPS--Sorry for posting this in the wrong forum before yaesumofo ...hope I got it right this time. What does B/S/t stand for anyhow?

Former_Mag_User

Enlightened
For a D Maglite it's the norm to cut down the bulb post.

d-switch_assy.jpg

d-negative_contact.jpg

d-switch_cut.jpg

Now that you cut down the bulb post return the metal strip and solder your two wires.
d-switch_connections.jpg

Note: Images from member Darkzero

B/S/T stands for Buy/Sell/Trade.

Do you already have your list of parts that you need for your mod?
You might also want to check out this site: Mag Mod Cookbook

bjn70

Flashlight Enthusiast