Initial review Petzl Myo XP LED Headlamp

hirby

Newly Enlightened
Hope these pics work right. Note: I am not a pro reviewer. I don't know if this light would be a great match for a spelunker, or mountain climber, etc. I know it works good for bike riding, and as a work light. Don't trust your life on my review! I also didn't use the flash on my camera because it made the dark blues look bright blue. The colors below are very close to the actuals.

Just got a new Petzl Myo XP LED Headlamp. This is Petzel's brand new 3 watt Luxeon Star model LED light. I purchased it at REI with a 20% off coupon for a total around $56. Not the cheapest light, but none of the Luxeon Star equipped models from any of the manufacturers are. With the coupon though, it came out pretty good.
IMG_4556.JPG

Like most headlamps, this one has a plastic housed light adjustable in a frame and battery compartment. While I can appreciate the tough feeling of metal parts, the weight to strength ratio is not as conducive when your neck has to bear all the weight. Even being plastic, it appears very robust in construction, however it is obvious that Petzl does not want you to mess with the insides as the frame is held on with "bathroom stall" type screws (you know, the kind you need a special tool to put on and are meant to screw in one direction only even with the tool).

IMG_4543.JPG

The honeycomb-ish front lens is for flood lighting and can be flipped down for narrower, longer throw, spot lighting. Here it is halfway flipped down to show how it works.
IMG_4544.JPG