Anyone else notice this about Windows XP?

Mags

Flashlight Enthusiast
I used to think that when a computer freezes, it was doomed until I pressed the switch to turn it off. I recently tested out freezes, and it never actually fully freezed. As in, it would unfreeze, even if it took a few minutes to do so. So now I think my CPU can never actually "freeze". But is this completely true? Im not an expert but know the basics.

Saaby

Flashaholic
Not completely true, sometimes you have a runaway process that is stuck in a loop and using 100% CPU.

Example?

The other day at work one of my programs locked up. I was working in another program and didn't want to reboot just quite yet. In the 10 minutes or so I worked before rebooting I must have really cooked the CPU, the fans in the machien went from quiet to wind-tunnel, when I turned the machine off it wouldn't turn back on! Power light just blinked orange, think I over heated it, so I had to move to another machine.

LightChucker

Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
Saaby said:
Not completely true, sometimes you have a runaway process that is stuck in a loop and using 100% CPU.

Example?

The other day at work one of my programs locked up. I was working in another program and didn't want to reboot just quite yet. In the 10 minutes or so I worked before rebooting I must have really cooked the CPU, the fans in the machien went from quiet to wind-tunnel, when I turned the machine off it wouldn't turn back on! Power light just blinked orange, think I over heated it, so I had to move to another machine.

[/ QUOTE ]

Saaby,

I have been in the business for over 30 years now; started on mainframes using BAL and have been on PCs for about 15 of those years. So, I know about run-away loops too, but I have never seen that effect before. I wonder if it was glowing red? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/eek.gif

Chuck

eluminator

Flashlight Enthusiast