Streamlight or Pentagon?

xx22

Newly Enlightened
In am considering bying a Streamlight TL-3 or a Pentagon X3.
Do anybody now these? How is the quality and brightness of these compared to a surefire 9p?

Do you now any other good lights?

Ps.I am not buying a surefire since I am from Europe (surefire prices in Europe are about doubble compared to USA prices, and USA online dealers are not alloved to sell surefire to Europe /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif)

JohnK

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have two TL-3 incandescents, and consider it at the top of the 3/123 pile.

I owned a Surefire 9P, it was slippery, the SL switch was superior. SF bulb assemblies are very expensive, TL-3's comes with a spare onboard, and replacements are inexpensive. I sold the 9P.

I have no experience with the Pentagon.

In output, the TL-3 is exceeded only buy big $$$$$ add on turboheads to the three cell Surefires.

Mark2

Enlightened
I have both and they are both very good, but different:

TL-3: very compact with great output and throw, includes spare bulb, variable focus, good beam quality but with some artifacts, no HA-III available, comfortable switch.

X3: larger and heavier (comparable to the Surefire 9P), perfectly round focused beam with bright hotspot and nice sidespill (but no variable focus), no spare bulb (it's a whole assembly incl. reflector similar to Surefire), nice HA-III, very good water protection (double O-rings on all openings), extremely solid design (built like a tank). The beam is whiter and more focused than the 9P's beam, brighter than the P90 of the 9P.

I'd say the X3 wins regarding performance and build quality, but the TL-3 is much smaller and lighter! This really can be a huge advantage. I don't think there is a smaller/lighter flashlight with such good output. You won't be carrying an X3 in your jeans pocket for very long, but the TL-3...