newbie needing help

Chad

Newly Enlightened
I would like to buy a LED flashlight for work. I work with a train transportation company. i am required to have a flashlight/lantern to do my job.

the one that is supplied to me by my company is very big and heavy. i have looked at 5 watt luxeon LED flashlights. the only draw back i can see to them is batteries are expensive.

can anybody sugest a good replacement for my current lantern?

Jayman

Newly Enlightened
Welcome to CPF! I'd recommend the Streamlight Propolymer Luxeon Led 4AA. Fairly compact, readily available batteries, and very good brightness and tint. It's regulated with full brightness lasting 3.5-4hrs. Check out the review at flashlightreviews.com

Hoghead

Flashaholic*
Chad,

Welcome to CPF /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink2.gif

I'm an Engineer on the UP and I was a conductor for 10 years on the CNW before that. Our trainmen are required to use a lantern for giving hand sign, but the trainmen that are on remote control jobs are furnished headlamps. If you are allowed to use a flashlight, you are going to need a light with long runtime. Some of our trainmen carry a small EDC light for times when they can't get back to the engine before dark or to back up their lantern.

I recommend either a Surefire A2 or a Surefire L2 or Surefire U2 as your primary light.
Here's Quickbeam's review of the A2. The A2 runs for about 50 minutes on high and about 20 hours on low. Low is enough light to walk by. The A2 on high has fairly good throw and the low beam is a flood beam.
Here's Quickbeam's review of the L2. The L2 runs about 45 to 50 minutes on high or about 8 hours on low before it starts to dim. The low of the L2 is brighter than the A2 on low. The L2 has a flood beam on high or low.
Here's Quickbeam's review of the U2. The U2 has a tighter beam than the L2. It has six brightness levels. It runs for about 1 hour on level 6 and about 40 hours on level 1.