In your opinion..can a flashlight be too bright

suertetres

Newly Enlightened
Ok, before I get thrown to the wolves, let me explain. I'm new to the flashlight seen, I have a g2 and a photon led keychain light. I doubt I would go much futher then that, but here is my question...

Last night teh wife was already asleep, i have the photon available to use to walk around teh room as to not take wake her up by turning on teh overhead light, however, it's so bright it lights up the entire room. I end up using a 99 cent keychain light from teh grocery store.

In your opinio, can lights be too bright. i think my g2 is perfect for me. bright, durable and relatively inexpensive. But some of these lights are crazy bright. What are they used for?

Alan_P

Newly Enlightened
Re: In your opinion..can a flashlight be too brigh

A light can be too bright for a particular purpose. Using a bright light to look for something in a dark theater will annoy everyone near you. A flashlight with multiple levels sure comes in handy.

Alan

jtice

Flashaholic
I find some of my lights too bright, alot of the time.
I find alot of dimming lights dont go low enough.

I really wish my U2 would go alot lower than it does, it can be blinding even on the lowest setting if you are completely night adapted.

I like lights that can go real low, like the Arc4

ACMarina

Flashlight Enthusiast

Yeah, if you were working outside in the dark, you probably don't want to totally destroy your night vision with the brightest light out there. .

Lynx_Arc

Flashaholic

Yes, lights can be too bright for some things. For walking around in the dark just navigating like.... going to the bathroom half asleep you only need enough light to make out things, any excess will either wake you up or make your eyes scream.... ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGH! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/eek.gif