Any Electrical Engineers in here? Solar light help

judoGTI

Newly Enlightened
So I found a schematic online to build my own solar light, that charges during the day and lights at night. I wired it all up and it seems to work with the exception of the battery not charging during the day.

I am a complete newb to an electronic/circuit stuff, Im hoping to teach myself with this as I go. The most Ive done before is wire up LEDs from a powersupply using the correct resistors, so I apologize for any newbie'ness to this thread.

I'm a little confused as to how this thing works because it has 3 potentiometers on it? I dont the potentiometers closest to the LEDs controls the brightness of the LEDs. But I have no idea what the other 2 do, and think this may be part of my charging problem. (Ive never wired or used a potentiometer before so I dont know if I even wired them correctly, but I think so.)

Can someone take a look at the schematic and my project and help me out at all? Thanks!

The solar cells put out 5.5v @ 15ma each.

Schematic:
solarschematic1.jpg

My project (wired exactly as the schematic)
solarlight1.jpg

Here is a labeled version so when you explain things you can idiot proof my understanding. lol
solarlight1-2.jpg

PhotonWrangler

Flashaholic
It looks like the potentiometer to the far left on the schematic (the one closest to the photovoltaic cell) controls the threshold at which the circuit decided that it's dark enough outside to turn on the LEDs.

The pot at the top of the schematic looks like it controls the threshold at which the battery is cut off from the LEDs to prevent it from being drained too deeply. And the pot on the far right is LED brightness, of course.

prescottrecorder

Newly Enlightened
Re: Any Electrical Engineers in here? Solar light

[ QUOTE ]
PhotonWrangler said: