What's the best bargain?

powerfuldark

Newly Enlightened
What\'s the best bargain?

Mind you, price really isn't an object for me, but I'm always fascinated by products (in any field) that represent extraordinary value. Whether it's cameras, cars, audio equipment, knives, or whatever- every hobby seems to offer some products that provide a disproportionate return on the investment. Although I will no doubt soon be asshole deep in flashlights (I can't do anything in moderation- it causes cancer), I'm rather new to this field, so I ask the following-
In terms of design, execution, performance, construction- what do you aficianados consider to be the absolute steals of this hobby?

For example, I find the Q3 to be an impressive device that goes for a song.

dsl

Newly Enlightened
Re: What\'s the best bargain?

most streamlights are a good value IMO the best value is the TL2 or a surefire G2

TonkinWarrior

Enlightened

Try these:

1. The Infinity Ultra 1-AA (original CMG version): $16-19, tough to find now, but available if ya search. Nice "spill", runs forever, bullet-proof. All-time value.

2. The old/std. power PEAK Matterhorns and McKinleys: $25-30, available via online dealer RMSK. Not as bright as the new Hi-power/Ultra-powers, but longer run-times. You can kick the Matterhorns up a notch via an Energizer L92 lithium battery, too.

3. The UK 4eLED 4-AA: BrightGuy had a special for a while, but it's still a bargain at $22-24 (?). Great emergency power-out light.

4. The old model Streamlight TL-2 and TL-3 ($40 +/-). Great tactical throw; touchy incan. bulb.

5. Streamlight Scorpion: a real junior throw-king, and a bargain for $32-35. Touchy bulb, like the TL-2, but, when adjusted to narrow focus, could temporarily disorient an attacker. Fairly battery-hungry.