Why I love LED's, And Won't Use Incandescent.

glock_nor_cal

Enlightened
Why I love LED\'s, And Won\'t Use Incandescent.

I'll preface this by saying I have zero scientific knowledge about flashlights, LED or otherwise.

I remember the first time I got my hands on a real LED flashlight. It was about a year ago in the form of the surefire l4. I will never look at flashlights the same again.
I took a kayaking/rafting trip over the course of several weeks last summer in BC and Oregon. I brought with my my L4, L1, and new M6;eager to test them all out in the great outdoors.
The second day of my trip I was bragging to one of my guides how tough my flashlight was (M6[And no, i didn't tell him how much it cost]) I gently rapped the bezel against a soft piece of water logged wood--about as hard as you'd feel comfortable tapping your fist against a glass window, (to demonstrate the "shock proof" bezel) when the bulb popped.
popped.
I was now sitting there with a 400+ dollar flashlight that was completely useless because I did not have another 30 dollar bulb to put in it.
I wasn't so much embarassed as I was completely shocked and dissapointed. I know surefire markets these lights mainly to "Military/Law Enforcement" members. I'm not a cop, nor am in in the military, but I should like to think that these guys put their lights through a little more punishment then a water soaked branch.
It's funny to me that I always see people saying "for self defense, I can only trust incandescent" They then cite possible ambient light drowning out the led as their rationale.
I think a broken bulb is a pretty bloody serious reason not to trust a light as well.
As it is, I don't feel comfortable with incandescent lights anymore , in a tactical scenario, as well as everyday use. Bulbs cost money and I don't want to be light-less while another one gets shipped out. My L4 saved my butt on that trip (until i lost it in a river, another story)